Cross

A small chance, green at the traffic lights

And they say green is life so It doesn’t have to come up twice

For me to cross the road, to break the chains that refrained my heartbeat

Worn down by grievances of past, but I am now at the feet of my greatest feat

 

I cheat on myself, burned down my book of principles

As soon as they appeared to be less practical

Less important they went, like the anger I no longer vent

But come on, you can’t always fake to be happy, you would faint

 

Neither can you keep saying how good your life has been

We all know it is a mess, that you can’t stop sneezing

That your attitude is keeping you from your fantasies

Or that society is pushing you into early babies

 

Who says you can’t mess up, who says you can’t depress?

Isn’t it those that their “get mad buttons” destiny is yet to press?

Patronizing adults trying to make a puppet out of you

Hugging you incessantly that to your age mates you appear a fool

 

Now we about to again live through the hypocrisy of New Year’s resolutions

And make statements empty of sense and motivations

Like: I will stop drinking, smoking or jerking off

Sorry for the language but bro, fuck off

 

The games we play seem interesting until we play ourselves

We blame losing loved ones like it’s not everyone’s case

We see opportunities but choose sitting down and moaning

Then wake up giving reasons for being poor yet another morning

 

But the light was once green, but you chose not to cross

Now next to your name appears a cross

RIP

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment